Coat of arms of the Russian Federation

Baltic Sea




Baltic Sea
Area: 415 thousand km2
The greatest depth: 470 m

The Baltic Sea is the intra-continental marginal sea of ​​Eurasia, which is deeply embedded in the continent. The Baltic Sea is located in northern Europe, belongs to the basin of the Atlantic Ocean. It joins the North Sea with the straits of Øresund (Zund), B. and M. Belta, Kattegat and Skagerrak. The sea boundary of the sea passes along the southern entrances of the straits of Öresund, B. and M. Belta. The shores of the Baltic Sea in the South and South-East are mostly low-lying, sandy, lagoon-type; From the land - dunes, covered with forest, from the sea - sand and pebble beaches. In the north, the banks are tall, rocky, mostly skerry-like. The coastline is heavily indented, forming numerous bays and bays. The largest bays are Botnichesky (in terms of physical and geographical conditions it is the sea), Finnish, Riga, Curonian, Gdansk bay, Szczecinski and others.

Baltic Sea
Bottom relief

The Baltic Sea lies within the continental shelf. The average depth of the sea is 51 meter. In the areas of shallows, cans, near the islands, there are small depths (up to 12 meters). There are several basins in which the depths reach 200 meters. The deepest basin is Landsertskaya with the maximum depth of the sea - 470 meters. In the Gulf of Bothnia, the maximum depth is 254 meters, in the Gotland Basin - 249 meters. The bottom in the southern part of the sea is flat, in the north - uneven, rocky. In the coastal areas sand is distributed among the bottom sediments, but most of the sea floor is covered with deposits of clay silt of green, black or brown glacial origin.

Hydrological regime

A feature of the hydrological regime of the Baltic Sea is a large excess of fresh water, formed due to precipitation and river flow. The brackish surface waters of the Baltic Sea through the Danish straits go to the North Sea, and the salt waters of the North Sea enter the Baltic Sea with a deep current. During the storms, when the water in the straits is mixed up to the very bottom, the water exchange between the seas changes - throughout the straits section, water can flow both into the North and into the Baltic Sea. The Baltic Sea in March 2000 (NASA) The circulation of the surface waters of the sea is directed counter-clockwise, although strong winds can disrupt the nature of the circulation. The tides in the Baltic Sea are semi-diurnal and diurnal, but their magnitude does not exceed 20 centimeters. More important are the overtaking phenomena - sea level fluctuations, which can reach 50 centimeters offshore, and at the tops of bays and gulfs - 2 meters. In the top of the Gulf of Finland in some meteorological situations, the level can rise up to 5 meters. The annual amplitude of sea level fluctuations can reach 3,6 meters in Kronstadt, Ventspils has 1,5 meters. The amplitude of the seismic oscillations usually does not exceed 50 centimeters.

Sunset
Compared with other seas, the excitement on the Baltic Sea is insignificant. In the center of the sea there are waves up to 3,5 meters, sometimes above 4 meters. In the shallow bays, the height of the waves does not exceed 3 meters, but they are steeper. However, it is not uncommon for large waves to form more than 10 meters in height, when storm winds form waves from deep water to shallow water. For example, in the area of ​​the banks of Elands-Sedra-Grunt, the height of the wave is 11 meters. A small salinity of the surface layer contributes to a rapid change in the state of the sea. In winter, ships are threatened with icing. These features of the Baltic Sea along with a high level of navigation, a large number of navigational hazards turn navigation in this sea into a difficult occupation. Transparency of water decreases from the center of the sea to its shores. The most transparent water in the center of the sea and the Gulf of Bothnia, where the water has a bluish-green color. In coastal areas, the color of the water is yellow-green, sometimes a brownish hue. The lowest transparency is observed in the summer due to the development of plankton. Sea ice appears first in the bays in October-November. The coast of Bothnicheskiy and a significant part of the coast (except for the southern coast) of the Gulf of Finland are covered with fast ice thickness of up to 65 centimeters. The central and southern parts of the sea are usually not covered by ice. Ice melts in April, although in the north of the Gulf of Bothnia, drifting ice may also occur in June. Often there is a floating bottom ice.

Temperature conditions
The Baltic Sea in winter

The temperature of the surface layers of water in summer in the Gulf of Finland is 15-17 ° C, in the Gulf of Bothnia - 9-13 ° C, in the center of the sea - 14-17 ° C. With increasing depth, the temperature slowly decreases to the depth of the thermocline (20-40 meters), where a sharp jump to 0,2-0,5 ° C occurs, then the temperature rises, reaching the bottom of 4-5 ° C.

Salinity

Salinity of sea water decreases from the Danish straits connecting the Baltic Sea with the salty North, to the east. In the Danish straits, salinity is 20 per mille at the sea surface and 30 per mille at the bottom. To the center of the sea, salinity decreases to 6-8 per mille at the sea surface, in the north of the Gulf of Bothnia, dropping to 2-3 per mille, in the Gulf of Finland to 2 per mille. With depth, salinity increases, reaching in the center of the sea at the bottom of 13 ppm.

Natural resources
Baltic Sea

The Baltic Sea is rich in seafood, in addition, there are oil reserves, in particular, the development of the D-6 field in the exclusive economic zone of Russia within the Kaliningrad region is being carried out, iron manganese concretions and amber deposits have been discovered.




Р РμР№С,РёРЅРі@Mail.ru РЇРЅРґРμРєСЃ.РњРμС,СЕРёРєР °
Home
Cards
Gallery
English English russian Russian
GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Герб РФ

Балтийское море



Балтийское море
Площадь: 415 тыс. км2
Наибольшая глубина: 470 м

Балтийское море — внутриматериковое окраинное море Евразии, глубоко вдающееся в материк. Балтийское море расположено в северной Европе, принадлежит бассейну Атлантического океана. Соединяется с Северным морем проливами Эресунн (Зунд), Б. и М. Бельты, Каттегат и Скагеррак. Морская граница моря проходит по южным входам проливов Эресунн, Б. и М. Бельты. Берега Балтийского моря на Юге и Юго-Востоке преимущественно низменные, песчаные, лагунного типа; со стороны суши — дюны, покрытые лесом, со стороны моря — песчаные и галечные пляжи. На Севере берега высокие, скалистые, преимущественно шхерного типа. Береговая линия сильно изрезана, образует многочисленные заливы и бухты. Наиболее крупные заливы: Ботнический (по физико-географическим условиям является морем), Финский, Рижский, Куршский, Гданьская бухта, Щецинский и др.

Балтийское море
Рельеф дна

Балтийское море находится в пределах материкового шельфа. Средняя глубина моря 51 метр. В районах отмелей, банок, около островов наблюдаются небольшие глубины (до 12 метров). Имеется несколько котловин, в которых глубины достигают 200 метров. Самая глубокая котловина — Ландсортская с максимальной глубиной моря — 470 метров. В Ботническом заливе максимальная глубина — 254 метра, в Готландской котловине — 249 метров. Дно в южной части моря равнинное, на севере — неровное, скалистое. В прибрежных районах среди донных осадков распространены пески, но большая часть дна моря покрыта отложениями из глинистого ила зелёного, чёрного или коричневого цвета ледникового происхождения.

Гидрологический режим

Особенностью гидрологического режима Балтийского моря является большой избыток пресной воды, образовавшийся за счёт осадков и речного стока. Солоноватые поверхностные воды Балтийского моря через Датские проливы уходят в Северное море, а в Балтийское моря поступают с глубинным течением солёные воды Северного моря. Во время штормов, когда вода в проливах перемешивается до самого дна, водообмен между морями меняется — по всему сечению проливов вода может идти как в Северное, так и в Балтийское море. Балтийское море в марте 2000 года (NASA) Циркуляция поверхностных вод моря направлена против часовой стрелки, хотя сильные ветры могут нарушать характер циркуляции. Приливы в Балтийском море — полусуточные и суточные, но их величина не превышает 20 сантиметров. Большее значение имеют сгонно-нагонные явления — колебания уровня моря, которые могут достигать у берегов 50 сантиметров, а в вершинах бухт и заливов — 2 метров. В вершине Финского залива при некоторых метеорологических ситуациях возможны подъёмы уровня до 5 метров. Годовая амплитуда колебаний уровня моря может достигать у Кронштадта 3,6 метра, у Вентспилса — 1,5 метров. Амплитуда сейшевых колебаний обычно не превышает 50 сантиметров.

Закат
По сравнению с другими морями волнение на Балтийском море незначительно. В центре моря встречаются волны высотой до 3,5 метров, иногда выше 4 метров. В мелководных заливах высота волн не превышает 3 метров, но они круче. Однако не редки случаи образования больших волн, высотой более 10 метров, в условиях когда штормовые ветра формируют волны, идущие с глубоководных районов к мелководью. Например в районе банки Эландс-Седра-Грунт инструментально зафиксирована высота волны 11 метров. Небольшая соленость поверхностного слоя способствует быстрому изменению соcтояния моря. В зимних условиях плавания судам угрожает обледенение. Данные особенности Балтики наряду с высоким уровнем судоходства, большим количеством навигационных опасностей превращают навигацию в этом море в непростое занятие. Прозрачность воды уменьшается от центра моря к его берегам. Наиболее прозрачна вода в центре моря и Ботническом заливе, где вода имеет голубовато-зелёный цвет. В прибрежных районах цвет воды — жёлто-зелёный, иногда коричневатого оттенка. Самая низкая прозрачность наблюдается летом из-за развития планктона. Морской лёд появляется сначала в заливах в октябре — ноябре. Побережье Ботнического и значительная часть побережья (кроме южного берега) Финского залива покрываются припаем толщиной до 65 сантиметров. Центральная и южная части моря обычно льдом не покрываются. Лёд стаивает в апреле, хотя на севере Ботнического залива дрейфующий лёд может встречаться и в июне. Часто встречается всплывший донный лёд.

Температурный режим
Балтийское море зимой

Температура поверхностных слоёв воды летом в Финском заливе составляет 15-17 °C, в Ботническом заливе — 9-13 °C, в центре моря — 14-17 °C. С увеличением глубины температура медленно понижается до глубины термоклина (20-40 метров), где происходит резкий скачок до 0,2-0,5 °C, затем температура растёт, достигая у дна 4-5 °C.

Солёность

Солёность морской воды уменьшается от Датских проливов, связывающих Балтийское море с солёным Северным, к востоку. В Датских проливах солёность составляет 20 промилле у поверхности моря и 30 промилле у дна. К центру моря солёность уменьшается до 6-8 промилле у поверхности моря, на севере Ботнического залива опускаясь до 2-3 промилле, в Финском заливе до 2 промилле. С глубиной солёность увеличивается, достигая в центре моря у дна 13 промилле.

Природные ресурсы
Балтийское море

Балтийское море богато морепродуктами, кроме того имеются запасы нефти, в частности ведётся разработка месторождения Д-6 в исключительной экономической зоне России в пределах Калининградской области, обнаружены железно-марганцевые конкреции и залежи янтаря.




Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика
На главную
Карты
Галерея