Coat of arms of the Russian Federation

Muskox




Muskox
Latin name: Ovibos moschatus
Family: Polar bears

Musk ox, or musk ox is the only modern representative of the genus Ovibos from the family of Polorohemia. The genus Ovibos belongs to the subfamily Caprinae, which also includes goats and mountain sheep. One modern species and 2 fossils are known. The closest relative of the musk ox is among the modern species takin. To date, it is one of the few species of large herbivores that are adapted to permanent habitation in high latitudes (except for musk oxen, where reindeers can permanently inhabit).

The traditional European name for musk oxen is the "musk ox". The Russian name "muskox" is a literal translation of the Latin name "Ovibos".

Muskox
Appearance

This is a fairly large animal of a dense physique. The dimensions of the body of adult males are approximately the following: length in average 225 cm, height at withers 127 cm, weight about 300 kg. Females are smaller by about one third, a quarter. The front part of the muzzle is covered with short hair (not naked, as in bulls). Horns are present in both males and females, but in males they are noticeably larger and more massive, in males they are up to 73 cm in length, females are up to 40 cm. Horns at the base are very wide, swollen and wrinkled and so close to the forehead of the animal that Between them there is only a narrow groove. They first bend down, then forward, then up and out. Horns light, horny, gray with black ends. They are smooth and round in cross section (except for the main part). In females, a patch of skin covered with white fluff is retained between the horns. Ears are small, pointed and almost hidden in wool. The legs are relatively short, strong, short tail is hidden in the coat, almost always not visible. The size of the trace of an adult male 12? 12 - 12? 14, see Adult male step length about 60, see Rectal temperature in adults is 38,4 ° C. The front hoof is somewhat larger than the rear hooves. The animal's track is reminiscent of a cow, the length of the trail is 6-10 cm, the width is up to 16, the length of the step is 50-75, see Diploid set of chromosomes of musk ox - 2n = 48, NF = 60. The vertebral column consists of 39 vertebrae. Eyes large, projected sideways. Chest wide. The animal's brain is relatively large - its volume reaches 350 cm? At a mass of 358,5 gr. The musk beetle is covered with a thick long coarse wool with a soft silky undercoat. Special thermal insulation properties of fur are achieved due to a thick warm undercoat - fluff, which is called "Gevioth". Musk muskox is from above a dark brown, from below a black-brown color with a brownish light spot in the middle of the back. The coat is very thick, long, hairy, hanging almost to the ground, elongated on the underside of the neck, with a thick undercoat, short only on the legs. This luxurious coat of eight types of hair is one of the most perfect thermal insulation coatings in the animal world. He is the record holder for the length of the coat, on the back it is relatively small - centimeters fifteen, on the sides and abdomen 60-90 cm, the beast looks covered with a large woolen poncho to the very hoofs. Moulting of the animal's hair is one, lasts from May to July inclusive. Winter fur is longer and thicker.

Muskox
Reproduction

Gon from late July to early October. Before the rush in late July - early August, a group of young females is poured into a powerful male that displaces young males from it and forms a harem. During the mating match, two males run towards each other and forcefully break their foreheads, in the manner of rams. After repeated frontal attacks, the weaker male leaves the battlefield. Males roar during tournament fights. The leader of the harem herd is very aggressive and can be dangerous. During the race, males emit a strong smell of musk, from which they received their second name - musky bulls. Pregnancy lasts about 8-9 months, the calf is born in late April - early June, twins are rare. After the birth of the cub, the female immediately (almost always) begins to lick it. In nature, the mass of the newborn is 7-8 kg. Cubs grow quickly and already at the age of two months weigh about 40-45 kg. At the age of four months their weight is about 70-75 kg, in the six months or a year they weigh 80-95 kg, and in two years - about 140-180 kg. After 2-3 hours after birth, the calf is already able to follow the mother. In the first two days the number of feedings varies from 8 to 18, and the total feeding time is 35-50 minutes. Two-week-old calf sucks mother 4-8 once a day, monthly 1-6 times, time of single feeding rarely reaches 1 minutes. Fat content of milk in musk oxen reaches 11%, 5,3% protein and 3,6% milk sugar. The udders of the females are small, covered with a dense short light hair, has 2 pairs of short (3,5-4,5 cm) nipples. It feeds on milk for about 4 months, but some late-bred and pro-sockeye females feed calves for a year or more. Rags of grasses and mosses of calves begin to taste at week-old age, and a month later passes to green grass forage, supplemented with portions of milk. The sex ratio of newborns is close to 1: 1, but in the adult population of musk oxen, males are much larger than females. Becomes an adult to 3-4 years. Maternal care lasts up to a year. Calves are grouped for joint games, which unites the same group of females. A permanent group of females with calves is formed. In the rich in feeding areas, females give offspring annually, in poorly-fed - often with a pass in 1 year for 10-12 years. The maximum life expectancy of musk oxen is 23-24 years, the average life is 11-14 years.

Muskox
Life

The inhabitant of the hilly arctic tundra and the polar deserts, often grazing in the mountains in winter, where the wind blows the snow from the slopes. In summer, they move to the places of the richest food - in the valleys of rivers and lakes and depressions in the tundra. The preference for these or those habitats depends on the season and availability of feed. She resembles sheep in her way of life. Lives in the herds, in summer on 4-7 heads, in winter on 12-50, very dexterously climbs on rocks, feeds on moss, lichens (berries and other), grass, various species of shrubbery willows and birches. The animals willingly eat cotton grass, sedges, astragalus, reedmils, mochemists, meadow grass, meadow, shrimp, arctagrostis, arctophile, diponium, dryad. In summer, the animals alternate feeding and rest approximately 6-9 times a day. From September to May he roams. Large seasonal movements do not. The area of ​​the winter section of one flock does not exceed, on average, 50 km2, The size of the annual plot reaches 200 km2. In search of pastures, a herd or an adult cow controls the herd, but in dangerous situations, only the herd bull plays the leading role. The animals usually move slowly and calmly, but if necessary, it can reach speeds of up to 40 km / h and run over significant distances. In winter time musk oxen sleep most of the time or rest, digesting the eaten food. In times of arctic storms musk oxs lay with their backs to the wind, and, unlike migrating reindeer, spend the winter, remaining on a small stretch of the territory. Muskoxes tolerate all kinds of frosts well, but for them high snow is fatal, especially covered with ice crust, although they are able to obtain fodder from under loose snow up to 40-50 depth.

Muskox
Distribution

Currently, indigenous populations of musk ox inhabit the North American region north of 60 ° s. In addition to the mainland, it is found on Parry, Grineleva, in western and eastern Greenland and on the northern coast of this island (83 degrees north latitude). Until 1865 year, he lived in the north of Alaska, but was completely exterminated. I was again brought back to 1930 year. In 1936, the musk ox was brought to the island of Nanivak, in 1969 year - to the island of Nelson in Bering Sea And in the reserve in the north-east of Alaska, in all these places he successfully took root. Attempts to acclimatize the musk ox in Sweden, Iceland and Norway did not have much success.

Introduction

Many zoologists in the 1920-ies raised the question of the expediency of settling musk oxen in the tundra zone of Russia, since the country has a huge territory in the Arctic suitable for the reactivation of the musk ox. Potentially, several hundred thousand musk oxen can live in Russia. But for this it is necessary to organize a wide migration of young animals to new areas, since they themselves are in a position to do so because of the presence of wide swampy areas and large rivers, and it is impossible to do anything from Wrangel Island at all.

Taimyr and Wrangel Island

In the middle of the 70-ies of the XX century, an experiment on reintroduction of previously lived musk oxen began on Taimyr in the mouth of the Bikada and Wrangel Island. The first batch of musk oxen for Taimyr, Canadian zoologists were caught in August 1974 year on. Banks 10 young animals (aged 15 months), equally males and females. In the spring of 1975, 40 animals were caught for Russia on the island of Nunivak off the coast of Alaska (USA). They were delivered, then divided into two equal groups and sent to different places: one - to the reserve "Wrangel Island" (12 females and 6 males 11-month-olds and two-year-old females and males), and the other - to Taimyr, to the lower reaches of Bicada , Where the animals from Canada have already overwintered. The imported musk ox successfully took root. The first successful calving on Wrangel Island was recorded in 1977 year, and in Taimyr - in 1978. The population size during the years that passed since the release was gradually growing, and the populated territory expanded. By the beginning of the 90-s the musk oxen had completely settled the island of Wrangel. Unfortunately, the resettlement of musk oxen was interrupted for a long time by certain political and social transformations. In 1994, the number of musk oxen in the Taimyr exceeded 1 thousand. On the Wrangel Island at that time, there were about 300 animals. At present, according to some estimates, about 4 thousand of musk oxen live in the Taimyr tundra. The population on Wrangel Island reached its maximum size (850 heads) and can become a source for settling and creating new herds on the mainland.

Muskox
The Polar Urals

By 2000, free-living populations of musk oxen were created in the Polar Urals, on the Terppy-Tumus peninsula, in the delta Lena, On the island of B. Begichev in the Khatanga Bay, and in the lower reaches Indigirki Near the village of Chokurdah.

Yakutia

In October 1996, the first batch of musk oxen (24 six-month calf) was brought from Taimyr to the Bulunsky Ulus of the Sakha Republic (Yakutia). In total, an 101 animal was moved from Taimyr. The livestock in Yakutia exceeded 400 goals. Formed 4 viable populations - Bulun, Anabar, Begichevskaya and Allayhovskaya. In 1997, a group of musk oxen was released on Yamal, the reaclimatization of the musk ox in the tundra zone as a whole is proceeding successfully: the number increases, gradual self-distribution of the species is noted. For the introduction of this species are suitable and many mountain areas of our North.

Magadan region

In 2005, 30 musk oxen were delivered to the Magadan Region from Taimyr. Soon after the delivery, the organization that delivered the animals was disbanded and the gold mining company "Kryvbas" started to take care of the animals. In 2010, animals that had been fed with mixed fodder and harvested hay before, were released into the wild. As a result, two herds of 16 and 10 heads were formed, respectively.

Muskox



Р РμР№С,РёРЅРі@Mail.ru РЇРЅРґРμРєСЃ.РњРμС,СЕРёРєР °
Home
Cards
Gallery
English English russian Russian
GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Герб РФ

Овцебык



Овцебык
Латинское название: Ovibos moschatus
Семейство: Полорогие

Овцебык, или мускусный бык — единственный современный представитель рода Ovibos из семейства полорогих. Род Ovibos относится к подсемейству Caprinae, в которое входят также козы и горные бараны. Известен один современный вид и 2 ископаемых. Ближайшим родственником овцебыка среди современных видов считается такин. На сегодняшний день это один из немногих видов крупных травоядных животных, которые приспособлены к постоянному обитанию в высоких широтах (кроме овцебыков, там постоянно могут обитать северные олени).

Традиционное европейское название овцебыков — «мускусный бык». Российское название «овцебык» является дословным переводом латинского наименования «Ovibos».

Овцебык
Внешний вид

Это довольно крупное животное плотного телосложения. Размеры тела взрослых самцов примерно таковы: длина в среднем 225 см, высота в холке 127 см, масса около 300 кг. Самки мельче примерно на одну треть, четверть. Передняя часть морды покрыта короткими волосами (не голая, как у быков). Рога имеются и у самцов и у самок, однако у самцов они заметно больше и массивнее, у самцов они имеют длину до 73 см, самок — до 40 см. Рога при основании очень широки, вздуты и морщинисты и так сближены на лбу животного, что между ними остается лишь узкий желобок. Они сначала загибаются вниз, потом вперёд, далее вверх и наружу. Рога светлого, рогового, серого цвета с чёрными концами. Они гладки и круглы в поперечном сечении (кроме основной части). У самок между рогами сохраняется участок кожи, покрытый белым пухом. Уши малы, заострены и почти скрыты в шерсти. Ноги относительно короткие, сильные, короткий хвост скрыт в шерсти, почти всегда не виден. Размер следа взрослого самца 12?12 — 12?14 см. Длина шага взрослого самца около 60 см. Ректальная температура у взрослых особей равна 38,4°С. Передние копыта несколько крупнее задних. След животного напоминает коровий, длина следа 6-10 см, ширина до 16, длина шага 50-75 см. Диплоидный набор хромосом овцебыка — 2n = 48, NF = 60. Позвоночный отдел состоит из 39 позвонков. Глаза крупные, спроектированы вбок. Грудная клетка широкая. Мозг животного относительно большой — его объем достигает 350 см? при массе 358,5 гр. Овцебык покрыт густой длинной грубой шерстью с мягким шелковистым подшерстком. Особые теплоизоляционные свойства меха достигаются за счёт густого тёплого подшёрстка — пуха, который называется «гевиот». Мускусный овцебык сверху тёмно-бурого, снизу чёрно-бурого цвета с буроватым светлым пятном на середине спины. Шерсть очень густая, длинная, мохнатая, свешивающаяся почти до земли, удлиненная на нижней стороне шеи, с густым подшерстком, короткая лишь на ногах. Эта роскошная шуба из восьми типов волос является одним из самых совершенных теплоизоляционных покрытий в животном мире. Он является рекордсменом по длине шерсти, на спине она относительно небольшая — сантиметров пятнадцать, на боках и животе 60—90 см, зверь выглядит накрытым просторным шерстяным пончо до самых копыт. Линька волосяного покрова животных одна, длится с мая до июля включительно. Зимний мех более длинный и густой.

Овцебык
Размножение

Гон с конца июля по начало октября. Перед гоном в конце июля — начале августа в группу самок с молодняком вливается мощный самец, который вытесняет из неё молодых самцов и образует гарем. Во время брачного поединка два самца бегут навстречу друг другу и с силой сшибаются лбами, на манер баранов. После многократных лобовых ударов более слабый самец покидает поле битвы. Самцы ревут при турнирных схватках. Вожак гаремного стада очень агрессивен и может быть опасен. Во время гона самцы испускают сильный запах мускуса, от чего и получили свое второе название — мускусные быки. Беременность длится около 8—9 месяцев, теленок рождается в конце апреля — начале июня, двойни редки. После рождения детёныша самка сразу же (почти всегда) начинает его вылизывать. В природе масса новорожденного равна 7—8 кг. Детёныши растут быстро и уже в двухмесячном возрасте весят около 40—45 кг. В четырёхмесячном возрасте их вес составляет примерно 70—75 кг, в полгода—год весят уже 80—95 кг, а в два года — около 140—180 кг. Через 2—3 часа после рождения теленок уже способен следовать за матерью. В первые двое суток число кормлений колеблется от 8 до 18, а общее время кормления составляет 35—50 минут. Двухнедельный телёнок сосёт мать 4—8 раз в сутки, месячный 1—6 раз, время разового кормления редко достигает 1 минуты. Жирность молока у овцебыков достигает 11 %, 5,3 % белка и 3,6 % молочного сахара. Вымя у самок небольшое, покрыто густым коротким светлым волосом, имеет 2 пары коротких (3,5—4,5 см) сосков. Питается молоком около 4 месяцев, однако некоторые позднородившие и прохолоставшие самки кормят телят до года и больше. Ветошь трав и мхов теленок начинает пробовать в недельном возрасте, а через месяц переходит на подножный зелёный корм, дополняемый порциями молока. Половое соотношение новорожденных близко 1:1, однако во взрослой популяции овцебыков самцов намного больше, чем самок. Становится взрослым к 3—4 годам. Материнская опека продолжается до года. Телята группируются для совместных игр, что сплачивает в одну группу и самок. Образуется постоянная группа самок с телятами. В богатых по кормам районах самки дают потомство ежегодно, в малокормных — нередко с пропуском в 1 год в течение 10-12 лет. Предельный срок жизни овцебыков равен 23—24 годам, средний — 11—14 лет.

Овцебык
Образ жизни

Обитатель холмистых арктических тундр и полярных пустынь, зимой часто пасется в горах, где ветер сдувает снег со склонов. Летом перемещаются в места наиболее богатых кормом — в долины рек и озёр и понижениях в тундре. Предпочтение тех или иных мест обитания зависит от сезона и доступности кормов. По образу жизни напоминает овец. Живёт стадами, летом по 4—7 голов, зимой по 12—50, очень ловко лазает по скалам, питается мхом, лишайниками (ягель и прочими), травой, различными видами кустарниковых ив и берёз. Звери охотно едят пушицы, осоки, астрагалы, вейники, мытники, мятлики, луговик, лисохвост, арктагростис, арктофилу, дипонцию, дриаду. Летом животные чередуют кормёжку и отдых примерно 6—9 раз в течение суток. С сентября по май кочует. Больших сезонных перемещений не делают. Площадь зимнего участка одного стада в среднем не превышает 50 км2, размер годового участка достигает 200 км2. В поисках пастбищ стадом управляет стадный бык или взрослая корова, но в опасных ситуациях главенствующую роль играет только стадный бык. Двигается животные обычно медленно и спокойно, но при необходимости способен развивать скорость до 40 км/час и пробегать значительные расстояния. В зимнее время овцебыки большую часть времени спят или отдыхают, переваривая съеденную пищу. Во времена арктических бурь мускусные быки ложатся спиной к ветру, и, в отличие от мигрирующих северных оленей, проводят зиму, оставаясь на небольшом участке территории. Овцебыки хорошо переносят любые морозы, но для них губительны высокие снега, особенно покрытые ледяной коркой, хотя способны добывать корм из-под рыхлого снега глубиной до 40-50 см.

Овцебык
Распространение

В настоящее время коренные популяции овцебыка населяют область Северной Америки к северу от 60° с. ш., кроме материка водится на земле Парри, Гринелевой земле, в западной и восточной Гренландии и на северном побережье этого острова (83 градуса северной широты). До 1865 года обитал и на севере Аляски, но был полностью истреблен. Был вновь завезен в 1930 году. В 1936 году овцебык был завезен на остров Нанивак, в 1969 году — на остров Нельсона в Беринговом море и в заповедник на северо-востоке Аляски, во всех этих местах он успешно прижился. Попытки акклиматизации овцебыка в Швеции, Исландии и Норвегии не имели особого успеха.

Интродукция

Многие зоологи еще в 1920-е годы ставили вопрос о целесообразности расселения овцебыков в тундровой зоне России так как страна располагает в Арктике огромной территорией, пригодной для реаклиматизации овцебыка. Потенциально в России могут обитать несколько сот тысяч овцебыков. Но для этого необходимо организовать широкое переселение молодых животных в новые районы, так как самим им сделать это в силу наличия широких заболоченных участков и крупных рек крайне затруднительно, а с острова Врангеля и вовсе невозможно.

Таймыр и остров Врангеля

В середине 70-х годов XX века на Таймыре в устье реки Бикада и острове Врангеля начался эксперимент по реинтродукции ранее обитавших здесь овцебыков. Первую партию овцебыков для Таймыра канадские зоологи отловили в августе 1974 года на о. Банкс 10 молодых зверей (в возрасте 15 месяцев), поровну самцов и самок. Весной 1975 года на острове Нунивак у берегов Аляски (США) были отловлены для России еще 40 животных. Они были доставлены, затем разделены на две равные группы и отправлены в разные места: одна — в заповедник «Остров Врангеля» (12 самок и 6 самцов 11-месячного возраста и двухлетних самку и самца), а другая — на Таймыр, в низовья Бикады, где уже перезимовали звери из Канады. Завезённый овцебык успешно прижился. Первый удачный отел на острове Врангеля отмечен в 1977 году, а на Таймыре — в 1978 г. Численность популяции в течение лет, прошедших со времени выпуска, постепенно росла, а заселенная территория расширялась. К началу 90-х годов овцебыки полностью заселили остров Врангеля. К сожалению, расселение овцебыков было надолго прервано известными политическими и социальными преобразованиями. В 1994 году количество овцебыков на Таймыре перевалило за 1 тыс. На острове Врангеля в это время обитало около 300 животных. В настоящее время, по некоторым оценкам, в таймырской тундре обитает около 4 тысяч овцебыков. Популяция на острове Врангеля достигла своих предельных размеров (850 голов) и может стать источником для расселения и создания новых стад на материке.

Овцебык
Полярный Урал

К 2000 году были созданы свободно живущие популяции овцебыков на Полярном Урале, на полуострове Терпяй-Тумус, в дельте Лены, на острове Б. Бегичев в Хатангском заливе, и в низовьях Индигирки в районе поселка Чокурдах.

Якутия

В октябре 1996 года была завезена первая партия овцебыков (24 шестимесячных телёнка) из Таймыра в Булунский улус республики Саха (Якутия). Всего из Таймыра было переселено 101 животное. Поголовье в Якутии превысило 400 голов. Сформировались 4 жизнеспособные популяции — булунская, анабарская, бегичевская и аллайховская. В 1997-м группа овцебыков выпущена на Ямале, реакклиматизация овцебыка в тундровой зоне в целом идет успешно: увеличивается численность, отмечается постепенное саморасселение вида. Для интродукции этого вида подходят и многие горные районы нашего Севера.

Магаданская область

В 2005 году с Таймыра в Магаданскую область было доставлено 30 овцебыков. Вскоре после доставки была расформирована организация, которая доставила животных и заботой о животных занялась золотодобывающая артель «Кривбасс». В 2010 году животные, которых до этого кормили комбикормом и заготовленным сеном, были выпущены в дикую природу. В итоге, образовалось два стада по 16 и 10 голов, соответственно.

Овцебык



Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика
На главную
Карты
Галерея